USI Management

The three Service Chiefs are Vice Patrons of the Institution. Management is vested in a Council composed of 24 members, ten ex-officio and 14 elected for a period of three years. The Executive Committee consists of a Chairman and at least seven members, all chosen from the Council, and is responsible for execution of the policy guidelines given by the Council. The Director General is the Chief Executive of the Institution, and also the Member-Secretary of both the above bodies.

The USI Council

Vice Patrons

  1. General Manoj Pande, PVSM, AVSM, VSM, ADC Chief of the Army Staff
  2. Admiral Dinesh K Tripathi, PVSM, AVSM, NM   Chief of the Naval Staff
  3. Air Chief Marshal VR Chaudhari, PVSM, AVSM, VM, ADC Chief of the Air Staff


  1. Lt Gen JP Mathew, PVSM, UYSM, AVSM, VSM – Chief of Integrated Defence Staff

Vice Presidents

  1. Lt Gen Upendra Dwivedi, PVSM, AVSM  –  Vice Chief of the Army Staff
  2. Vice Adm Krishna Swaminathan AVSM, VSM - Vice Chief of the Naval Staff
  3. Air Mshl AP Singh, PVSM, AVSM  – Vice Chief of the Air Staff

Ex-officio Members

  1. Shri Giridhar Aramane, IAS  – Defence Secretary
  2. Air Mshl Jeetendra Mishra, VSM  DCIDS (DoT)*
  3. Lt Gen DS Kushwah, AVSM, SM  – COS  ARTRAC *
  4. Cmde Rahul Jaitly Cmde – (NT) *
  5. AVM Anjan Bhadra,VM –  ACAS Ops (Strat) *

Elected Members ( 01 Jan 2023 – 31 Dec 2025 )

  1. Lt Gen Jatinder Singh Bajwa, PVSM, UYSM, SM (Retd) 
  2. Lt Gen Vinod Bhatia, PVSM, AVSM,SM (Retd) *
  3. Brig Rumel Dahiya, SM (Retd) *
  4. Lt Gen Satish Kumar Dua, PVSM, UYSM, SM, VSM (Retd)
  5. Lt Gen Rajiv Bhalla, PVSM, AVSM, SM, VSM (Retd)
  6. Lt Gen Rakesh Sharma, PVSM, UYSM, AVSM, VSM (Retd) *
  7. Lt Gen Raj Shukla, PVSM, YSM, SM (Retd) *
  8. Lt Gen Ajai Singh, PVSM, AVSM (Retd)
  9. Vice Adm Anil Kumar Chawla, PVSM, AVSM, NM, VSM (Retd)
  10. Vice Adm Satish Soni, PVSM, AVSM, NM (Retd) *
  11. Wg Cdr Umesh Chandra Jha (Retd) 
  12. Air Mshl Rajeev Sachdeva, AVSM (Retd) *
  13. Capt Ramiah Rajagopalan, IFS (Retd) *
  14. Shri Asoke Mukerji, IFS (Retd)
Note :- * Ex Officio Members and remaining 14 Elected Members of USI Council.

Member Secretary

  1. Maj Gen Bal Krishan Sharma, AVSM, SM & Bar (Retd) Director General USI

Executive Committee

  1. Lt Gen Vipul Shinghal, AVSM, SM – DCIDS (DoT) – Chairman
  2. Those marked above with * Members
  3. Maj Gen Bal Krishan Sharma, AVSM, SM & Bar (Retd) Director General USI Member Secretary


  1. Director General – Maj Gen BK Sharma, AVSM, SM & Bar (Retd)

  2. Deputy Director General –  Maj Gen PK Goswami, VSM (Retd) 

  3. Director - (Permanent Staff Basis)

    • Maj Gen SB Asthana, SM, VSM (Retd) – Director Courses
    • Sqn Ldr RTS Chhina, MBE (Retd) – Director CMHCS

  4. Director (Consultant Basis)

    • Maj Gen Sanjeev Chowdhry (Retd) – Director Editorial 
    • Maj Gen Rajendra Singh Yadav, VSM (Retd) – Director CS3
    • Gp Capt Sharad Tewari, VM (Retd) – Director Adm

  5. Head
  6. Maj Gen PK Goswami, VSM (Retd) – UN Cell
  7. Maj Gen (Dr) Pawan Anand, AVSM (Retd)  USI ANBI 

    • Librarian – Mrs Anita Midha